City of Evansville Common Council

Organizational Meeting

City Hall, 31 S Madison St, Evansville WI 53536 Tuesday, April 15, 2025, 6:00 p.m.

MINUTES

Administer Oral Oath of Office to District #1 Alderperson Abbey Barnes, District #2 Alderperson Kelly Shannon, District #3 Alderperson Chuck Boyce, and District #4 Alderperson Ben Corridon.

1. **Call to Order:** Mayor Duggan called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

2. Roll Call of New Council:

Mayor, Dianne Duggan	P
Alderperson, Bill Lathrop	P
Alderperson, Abbey Barnes	P
Alderperson, Erika Stuart	P
Alderperson, Kelly Shannon	P
Alderperson, Chuck Boyce	P
Alderperson, Joe Geoffrion	P
Alderperson, Ben Corridon	P
Alderperson, Lita Droster	P

Leah Hurtley, City Clerk Jason Sergeant, City Administrator Julie Paton, Citizen Jeff Stevens, Citizen

- 3. <u>Motion to Approve the Agenda</u> by Corridon, seconded by Droster. <u>Motion carried 8-0.</u>
 A change was made by Mayor Duggan striking 8J Abraham Rodriguez, 461 S 5th St, for a three-year term to the Youth Center Advisory Board, expiring 2028.
- 4. **Nomination and Election of Council President.** Suart nominated Abbey Barnes, seconded by Lathrop, no other nominations were made.

<u>Motion to elect Abbey Barnes for Council President,</u> by Stuart, seconded by Lathrop. <u>Motion carried 8-0.</u>

- 5. <u>Motion to appoint the Janesville Gazette as the City of Evansville's official newspaper for a term of one year, by Barnes, seconded by Corridon. Motion carried 8-0.</u>
- 6. **Citizen Appearances** (Public comments on items on the agenda not requiring a public hearing and on matters which can be affected by Council action.)

Bill Lathrop – Shared feedback from an unnamed constituent regarding letters that were sent out from Evansville Water & Light.

7. Motion to approve the Committee Aldermanic Appointments of:

- A. Ald. Abbey Barnes as Chair and Ald. Bill Lathrop and Ald. Ben Corridon as committee members to the Finance and Labor Relations Committee.
- B. Ald. Abbey Barnes and Ald. Bill Lathrop to the Plan Commission.
- C. Ald. Ben Corridon as Chair and Ald. Abbey Barnes and Ald. Lita Droster as committee member to the Municipal Services Committee.
- D. Ald. Lita Droster and Ald. Erika Stuart to the Evansville Fire District Board, and Ald. Chuck Boyce as alternate.
- E. Ald. Joe Geoffrion and Ald. Kelly Shannon to the Economic Development Committee.
- F. Ald. Erika Stuart to the Park and Recreation Board.
- G. Ald. Erika Stuart as Chair and Ald. Joe Geoffrion and Ald. Chuck Boyce and as committee members to the Public Safety Committee.

- H. Ald. Lita Droster and Ald. Chuck Boyce to the Redevelopment Authority.
- I. Ald. Kelly Shannon to the Historic Preservation Commission.
- J. Ald. Ben Corridon as Chair and Ald. Lita Droster to the Evansville Youth Center Board.

By Barnes, seconded by Lathrop. Motion carried 8-0.

- 8. Motion to approve the Committee Citizen Appointments of:
 - A. Jonathan Hollingsworth, 671 Windsor Ln, and Idalia Winger, 315 W Liberty St, for a three-year term to the Eager Free Public Library Board of Trustees expiring 2028 and Laurie Crandall, 7728 N Morning Meadow Ln, Evansville, WI 53536, as the School Representative appointment, expiring 2028.
 - B. Gina Wyse, for a five-year term to the Board of Review, expiring 2030.
 - C. Paul Liesse,119 Garfield Ave, and Brandon Rutz, 7901 N Tolles Rd, Evansville, WI 53536 for a three-year term to the Economic Development Committee, expiring 2028.
 - D. Amy Corridon, 29 W Liberty St, Katilyn Sacker, 25 N. Second St, and Dan Stephans, 54 Deanna Dr, for a two-year term to the Historic Preservation Commission, expiring 2027.
 - E. Carolyn Butts, 302 S Madison St, for a five-year term to the Housing Authority Committee, expiring 2030.
 - F. Matthew Poock, 470 W Church St, for a three-year term to the Park and Recreation Board, expiring 2028.
 - G. Susan Becker, 233 Garfield Ave, and Mike Scarmon, 20 Garfield Ave, for a three-year term to the Plan Commission, expiring 2028.
 - H. Jay Oren, 520 S 5th St, for a five-year term to the Police Commission, expiring 2030.
 - I. Susan Becker, 233 Garfield Ave, to the Redevelopment Authority, for a five-year term expiring 2030.
 - J. Abraham Rodriguez, 461 S 5th St, for a three-year term to the Youth Center Advisory Board, expiring 2028.
 - K. Dennis Hughes, 715 Badger Dr, as Chair for a three-year term to the Zoning Board of Appeals, expiring 2028.

By Barnes, seconded by Stuart. <u>Motion carried 7-0</u>, with Corridon abstaining for reasons of conflict of interest.

- 9. Unfinished Business.
- 10. Communications and Recommendations of the Mayor.

Mayor Duggan thanked the new Alderpeople for their motivation to serve the public by means of Council. Duggan made note of meeting decorum, attendance and communication expectations.

- 11. Upcoming Meeting Reminder:
 - A. League of Wisconsin Municipalities Spring Conference: April 28-29, 2025, at Wilderness Resort in Wisconsin Dells
 - B. Regular Common Council Meeting, Tuesday May 13, 2025, at 6:00 p.m.
- 12. Adjourn at 6:24 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by: Leah L. Hurtley, City Clerk